your local sports bar in Phoenix

It’s Football Season Again!

Last Updated on

It’s September, and that means it’s officially football season again! Collectively as a nation, we’ll tune in to watch the clash of helmets and the force of raw power on Monday Night Football throughout the fall and winter seasons. It all leads up to that final exuberant game in February—the Super Bowl! And as your local sports bar in Phoenix, you better believe Long Wongs is showing all the action on our big screen TVs.

How the Season Works

The NFL regular season begins the weekend after Labor Day and ends in December or early January. Each of the 32 teams in the league will play 16 games over a 17-week period. Six teams in each of the two conferences with the best regular season records will move on to the playoffs. From there, it’s single-elimination, until the final two teams meet in the Super Bowl.

A Perfect Season

Hoisting the Vince Lombardi Trophy overhead in celebration of a Super Bowl victory is the greatest accomplishment a pro-football team can attain. But even more rare, and therefore extremely revered, is the perfect season. In the modern football era, which began in 1920, only four teams have achieved such a feat, and only one of those teams had a perfect regular season and playoff record. That team was the 1972 Miami Dolphins, who went 17-0-0 all the way, to crown their season with a win at the Super Bowl. The other three teams were only able to accomplish a perfect record in the regular season. And those teams were the 1934 Chicago Bears, the 1942 Chicago Bears, and the 2007 New England Patriots. Other teams have come close, but only these four can tout a perfect season.

The Opposite of A Perfect Season

Now, you may find yourself wondering if any team in history has failed so badly that they lost every single game in a regular season. The answer? Yep: two. The most recent team to go 0-16 was the 2017 Cleveland Browns, when they lost their final game of last season to the Pittsburgh Steelers with a score of 28-24! The only other team to have merited this honor is the 2008 Detroit Lions.

So who will be our 2019 champ? Last year the Philadelphia Eagles successfully stopped the previous year’s champion team, the New England Patriots, winning Super Bowl LII with a score of 41-33. But as for this year’s winner, we’ll just have to wait and see. So come on over to Long Wongs, your local sports bar in Phoenix, and root for your home team while enjoying AZ’s most famous wings and a cold pint! See you at the game!



Images used under creative commons license (Commercial Use) Pixabay

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.